2023 HBCU Rugby Classic Welcomes New Champions

On April 2, 2023, the final curtain came down for the 2023 HBCU Rugby Classic and Music Festival, as Maine-Farmington Rugby Women would hoist the Phaidra S. Knight HBCU Rugby Classic Championship trophy, as they defeated Howard University Rugby Women in a nail-biter match. A last-second score by Erin Buckland, 33-28.

The night before, Howard University Men and Morehouse College battled against each other for a tense, high-octane match. It took the very last score at the very last second by team captain, Daniel Davillier, for Howard University Men to take the 5-0 win over the former 2019 HBCU Rugby Classic Champs.

The top high school match brought Withrow High School Rugby against a developing Cristo Rey High School Rugby. Both are first-time HBCU Rugby Classic participants and competed strongly. Withrow High School would take the 2023 HBCU Rugby Classic Boy’s High School Championship with a 37-0 win.

The 2023 HBCU Rugby Classic and Music Festival brought back 2019 HBCU Rugby Classic defending champions, Morehouse College, while including first-time participants such as host, Howard University Rugby Men, and second HBCU women’s team, Howard University Rugby Women. Additionally, the HBCU Rugby Classic featured the University of Maine-Farmington Rugby Women, Withrow High School of Cincinnati, OH, and Cristo Rey High School out of Philadelphia, PA. This was the first HBCU Rugby Classic since 2021 and the first one to be done outside of Louisiana being hosted at the storied, Howard University.

The event wasn’t just all rugby, as we had features from the musical artist, Javier Gooden, as well as stroll performances by the dorm houses.

The HBCU Rugby Classic saw three new recipients of the Ram Eddings Player of the Match awards in Howard University Rugby Men’s Captain, Daniel Davillier, University of Maine-Farmington Rugby Women’s, Ali Banks, and Withrow High School’s, Tony Mack.

Another great event has gone through. Thank you to our referees, Courtney White, Rebekkah Portlock, Olga Oniyibi, Gary Porter, and Marcus Johnson.

Thank you to our sponsors Sheehy Auto Stores, Young Glory, Old Glory, James G Robertson and Clive Sullivan Rugby Foundation, Davillier Law Group, Athstat, Citizen Sports Foundation, US Postal Service Federal Credit Union, NOLA Howard Men’s Rugby #1 Fans, Jamaica Tourist Board, and My Life Clothing.

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter to get early access to HBCU Rugby events, and up to date news. Also get access to opportunities to receive special deals and prizes as a subscriber.